Scholarships & Grants

Minnesota Section of AIPG – Student Scholarship Information

The Minnesota Section of the American Institute of Professional Geologists (AIPG) awards one student scholarship per year in the amount of $1,000.  Undergraduate students in their junior year of a Minnesota college/university are selected to apply by their advisors.  The Student Grant Committee Chair emails professors at each Minnesota college/university in the spring asking them to nominate one student from thier institution for the scholarship.  The deadline is typically the end of September.  The AIPG MN Section awards the scholarship in January and asks the awardee to present their undergraduate research project at a section meeting the first Tuesday in May. 


Minnesota Section of AIPG - FG Grant Information

The Minnesota Section of the American Institute of Professional Geologists (AIPG) awards grants to students taking the Association of State Boards of Geology® (ASBOG) Fundamentals of Geology (FG) exam. Grants are $200 each, which covers the ASBOG portion of the exam fee. Approximately 10 grants will be awarded, five for the Autumn FG examination and five for the Spring FG examination.

For more information about the professional licensure exams and how to register for them in Minnesota, please see our Professional Licensure in Minnesota webpage.

FG Exam Fee Grant Requirements:

  • Student, undergraduate or graduate, enrolled in a college or university in the State of Minnesota
  • Student Member of AIPG. Membership for students if FREE. Become a member by filling out the appliation on the AIPG National website:
  • Have not been awarded an AIPG MN Section FG Grant previously.
  • Have been accepted to sit for the FG examination. Proof of your approval to sit for the exam is required before grant dispersal.

AIPG MN Section - FG EXAM FEE Grant APPlication


AIPG National – Student Scholarships Deadline is February 1

In order to assist undergraduate and graduate students with college education costs and to promote student participation in AIPG, AIPG National offers several undergraduate scholarships ($1,000 to $3,000 each) and at least one graduate scholarship ($1,000 each). 

Please visit the AIPG National website for more information on eligibility requirements, application process details, and lists of past awardees for the undergraduate scholarships and at least one graduate scholarship.


scholarships from other local organizations

Minnesota Ground Water Association – Student Scholarships Deadline is late-January

The Minnesota Ground Water Association (MGWA) awards one undergraduate student scholarship and one graduate student scholarship ($1,500 each) annually.  Please visit the MGWA Gil Gabanski Student scholarship page for application information.


Institute of Lake Superior Geology - Student Research Fund Deadline is August 31

The Institute of Lake Superior Geology (ILSG) awards at least two $500 grants annually to undergraduate and graduate students for reasearch expenses. Please visit the ILSG Student Research Fund page for application information.


Minnesota Brownfields - Mac Hyde Scholarship Deadline September 1

Minnesota Brownfields awards one undergraduate/graduate scholarship ($2000) annually to a student pursuing studies in a field related to brownfield redevelopment. Please visit the Minnesota Brownfields Mac Hyde Brownfield Scholarhsip page for application information.


Previous winners of the Minnesota Section of the american institute of professional geologists undergraduate student scholarship

2019 MN Section of AIPG Scholarship Winner: Natalie Hummel from Carleton College!

2018 MN Section of AIPG Scholarship Winner: Michael Murphy of Macalester College!

2017 MN Section of AIPG Scholarship Winner:Erin Arntson of Carleton College!

2016 MN Section of AIPG Scholarship Winner: Glen Hartford of Macalester College!

2015 MN Section of AIPG Scholarship Winner: Sage Wooldridge of University of Minnesota - Morris!

2014 MN Section of AIPG Scholarship Winner: Anna Frankowski of Winona State University!